Ambassador Spotlight

Name: Rachel Wipflerrachel-wipfler

Year: Senior

 
School: CAS 2017
 
Major: Neuroscience
 
Hometown: St. Louis, MO
 
Why do you Ambass?
I wanted to be an ambassador from day one at BU. Tour guides play such a large role in helping students decide whether a school is the right fit for them, and I wanted to be able to help students through this process and share my love for BU with them. Now, over two years later, my favorite part of being an ambassador is seeing the look on students’ faces when they hear the part of the tour that makes them fall in love with this school.
 
Favorite BU memory?
My freshman year, Boston broke the all-time snow record for the city. It was a crazy introduction to New England winters, but I loved it. During the 5 snow days we had, my friends and I had Bachelor marathons and had snowball fights on the Esplandae! We made the best of the insane weather.
What is one piece of advice you would give to new ambassadors?
Have a few jokes up your sleeves! They break the ice a bit and families (parents especially) tend to love them. I’ve also noticed that people are way more likely to ask questions if you’re making the tour enjoyable and not just spewing information at them. 
 
Favorite study spot on campus?
The 9th floor of Kilachand
 
What’s the strangest thing that’s happened to you on vacation?
Over one Spring Break, I visited my best friend in New York (it was my first time in the city). We were just wandering around Central Park when all of a sudden, we got pulled into a street performance. The next thing I knew, these guys were doing flips and jumps over our heads in front of probably around 100 people!
 
Guilty Pleasure?
I’m late to the game, but I’ve recently really gotten into Grey’s Anatomy and I’ve been completely hooked since the first season. 
 
Dream Job?
DREAM job: destination wedding planner; (more realisitic) dream job: a patent lawyer for a neuro-biotechnology company
Leave a Reply

