Ambassador Spotlight

Name: Mercedes Cisnerosmercedes-cisneros
 
Year: Sophomore
 
School: CGS 2017, Sargent 2019
 
Major: Health Science, Minor in Education
 
Hometown: Guanajuato, Mexico and San Bernardino, CA
 
Favorite ambass memory?
Alianza Latina’s FUEGO dance in the Fall of 2015. I had been to a few meetings and it was comforting as a freshman to have been remembered by name upon my arrival at the dance. I also attended with my roommate and it was the night her and I bonded really well and started the amazing friendship that continues to this day. Also, dancing to Latin music is one of my favorite things in the world to do.
 
Why do you Ambass?
When I first came to BU, I had ridiculously high expectations about what the school would have to offer and how it would make me feel. To my very pleasant surprise, upon my first visit, BU completely surpassed all the high expectations I had. Therefore, I ambass so that I can share the joy and resources BU has to offer with prospective students. If a student is considering BU, I want to give them reasons that will serve as deciding factors. 
 
What is one piece of advice you would give for new ambassadors?
The phenomenal Maya Angelou said, “people will forget what you said and people will forget what you did, but they will never forget how you made them feel.” Therefore, I want future ambassadors to know that it is okay to not know everything about BU and it’s resources. It’s more important to allow people to feel what a wonderful experience it is to be a part of BU. Make them feel welcome, make them feel happy, make them feel in awe at all the opportunities, and they will remember BU.
 
Favorite study spot on campus?
The library in the School of Theology. It isn’t open on Sunday’sand therefore motivates me to get my work done before Sunday.
 
What’s the strangest thing that’s happened to you on vacation?
During my ASB trip to Lake Metroparks, OH last spring, we had the opportunity to go to a farm and pet their animals. While snap chatting my excitement, a goat starting eating my hair and drooled on my shirt. It’s actually a really cute 10 second video though.
 
Guilty Pleasure?
Spanish telenovelas. They are absolutely ridiculous but I just feel the need to know the answers to every single cliff hanger.
 
Dream Job?
Since a very young age I have always wanted to be a Giant Panda researcher and help aid in preventing their extinction. However, this past September 5th (ironically my birthday), it was declared that Giant Pandas are no longer an endangered species due to increases in population. Therefore, my more realistic dream job is to work promoting positive public health habits in under-resourced communities in Latin America.
Leave a Reply

