Ambassador Spotlight

Name: Megan FantesFullSizeRender (1)

Year: Sophomore, Class of 2018

School: CAS

Major: Mathematics & Statistics

Hometown: Middletown, RI

Favorite ambass memory? 

When I finally figured out my own touring style. I have always loved giving tours, but last semester I figured out my tone for my tours and how to keep people interested while giving as much information as possible. Once I found my voice, people started coming up to me after every tour to tell me that BU is their first choice after going on my tour. It is the best feeling to know that I may have affected someone’s college choice just because they happened to come on my tour.

What is the one piece of advice you would give to prospective terriers?

EVERYONE is afraid that they won’t be able to make friends, and everyone always wants to make new friends. If you see someone and you want to talk to them, do it! They won’t think you are weird for talking to them, they will be happy that you reached out.

Favorite book and why? 

“People of the Book” by Geraldine Brooks. I believe in cooperation and communication (#WhyIAmbass), especially between cultures and religions. This book follows a single Jewish text through all of the periods of Jewish persecution throughout history, and in each period the owner of the text is saved by someone of another religion. The book’s message is coexistence, because, no matter if we practice different religions, we are all human.

Favorite study spot on campus? 

My dorm room, I am a devout room studier.

What’s something no one knows about you?

No one at college knows that throughout high school I did a lot of clothing design. I made my own dress for one of my semi-formal dances, and I designed and silk screened my own t-shirts.

Leave a Reply

